top of page
Writer's pictureAlison Howard

Being a Queer & Autistic Illustrator.

Updated: Jun 6, 2022


Hi there!


Welcome to my blog.


I wanted to write a quick post about who I am and how my identity is important to me as an illustrator, so a quick introduction is needed!


A photo of Alison on a very windy day on a clifftop in Barry, Wales.
Me on a very windy day on a clifftop in Barry.

As a member of the LGBTQ+ community, I feel it is important to be proud of who you are. I like to insert my personality and identity into my artwork so that it aligns with my values and dedication to creating diverse and inclusive content in my illustration practice.


I was diagnosed with Autism in my 20s, and I have found that this is something which I feel is important to raise awareness, understanding and acceptance of within my illustrations since it often is misunderstood by wider society.


I feel that my illustration practice leaning towards children's illustration can help to educate young people about minority groups in a fun and inclusive way, and I plan to continue working on projects that reflect who I am as a creator and the lived experiences I have which can inspire my work.



I hope to share my work as I begin my journey into becoming an illustrator.


Stay tuned!



By Alison Howard


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page