top of page
Writer's pictureAlison Howard

Comic Art Block? Use this technique to generate ideas!

Updated: Jun 6, 2022

Hello!


This is a blog that I hope can help those struggling with the dreaded feeling of "art block" and creating stories.


During my studies, we were asked to follow a simple format to create a 10 page narrative comic, which proved a fun way to create simple and creative narratives.


In this blog, I will explain this technique as I feel it is a great way to engage your brain into creating work that is fun and experimental.


You will need:


  • × 2 random images

(this can be from magazines, Google, Pinterest etc - anything that you like! Just make sure they're random and unrelated.)


  • Illustration Materials

e.g. pen and paper, digital tablet, anything you like!



Step 1: Start with one of your chosen images.


This image will act as the first image of your 10 page comic.


The aim of this is to create a story that starts with/from your first chosen image and ends with the second chosen image by filling in the gaps using 8 pages of illustrations to tell a story - the chosen images act as "bookends" to the story.


The rules:

  • The two chosen images must act as the first and last page of your comic

  • The story must somehow get from one image to the second in a creative and logical way

  • No text! Try to tell the story using illustrations only.

  • Have fun! Create the wackiest story you like, it's just about experimenting and having fun with it.


These were the two images that I was given by my tutor:












Step 2: Plan out a storyboard.


1. Start sketching out a 10-page storyboard (remember that images 1 and 10 are the chosen found images from step 1!)



It helps to draw your own blank storyboard similar to the one I mapped out below:


2. Sketch out panels that are well-paced and are logical ideas of how the story can get from Image 1 to Image 2.


Play around with which image you want to put at the start and end - whichever makes more sense in your head.


I decided that for my story, the chihuahua runs away and finds himself inside a circus tent performing different tricks.


Step 3: Finalise it!


When you're happy with your story, start illustrating it however you feel fits best!



Here is what I created:






I hope you find this technique as fun as I did, and if you try this out, tag me on Instagram @alisonhowardillustration with the hashtag #comicswithalison and I'll check them out!


Have fun!


By Alison Howard









6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page